Favorite movies watched in 2016

Today we are on to favorites-list number two, which features five movies I had been meaning to watch for ages but only got around to last year. They are five very different films, but each one of them has left a lasting impression on me and they are now some of my favorites of all time.

Sense And Sensibility (1995)

ss

The first movie on the list actually made me realize how badly I want to become a screenwriter. Watching Sense And Sensibility, adapted screenplay written by Emma Thompson, left me speechless and I had never felt more inspired to put all my time and effort into trying to become the best writer I can be. This is by far one of my favorite scripts I have ever seen. Other than that, the movie is utterly beautiful. As someone who does not easily reach for a costume drama I felt enchanted by the characters, the plot and the way it was all brought to life. The acting is out of this world! There is so much emotion in this film and the way they make you see each character through the eyes of the other ones is very intriguing.

 

The Skeleton Twins (2014)

skltn

Another movie that left me in awe was The Skeleton Twins, featuring Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader as depressed siblings. I already adored both of these actors because they are two of the most hilarious people alive, yet their dramatic performances in this movie  elevated my admiration to a whole new level. They honestly made me cry my eyes out. This movie tackles some heavy, often tabooed subjects such as mental illness and suicide and I love that it does not shy away from the reality of it all. This was quite possibly the most moving film I have seen all year.

 

Whiplash (2014)

WHIPLASH_2.indd

From the most moving film we go to the most intense one. Whiplash had been on my ‘to-watch’ list for quite some time and I finally watched it a few weeks ago. Most of the storytelling in this movie lies in the emotions portrayed by the main cast, who are nothing short of amazing. This movie is a perfect example of how nuance can say more than words. A look in someone’s eye, the way a piece of music is being played, even the way a character walks across the street says so much in this film. I caught myself holding my breath because of the constant tension so many times that I felt like I had run a marathon when the movie ended. What an experience!

 

Imagine Me And You (2005)

imgne

The fact that I included this next movie in a favorites list is truly miraculous because I am not a fan of romantic movies at all. One of the only ones I can watch over and over again is Notting Hill. However, Imagine Me And You made me sob and sigh and genuinely root for the two main characters to get together in the end and I actually enjoyed it all. I guess that is what happens when you see a same-sex relationship represented in a movie without it being a punch line or overly erotic. I also really enjoyed seeing Lena Headey playing a character that is so drastically different from her Game Of Thrones one.

 

Frida (2002)

frd

The last movie I want to mention is the biopic Frida. I know, I am literally over a decade late on this one but wow, what a visually stunning masterpiece! The movie is about painter Frida Kahlo, her career, her struggle with her health and her relationship with fellow artist Diego Rivera. The colors, sets and locations used in this film are sensational and Salma Hayek‘s portrayal of the infinitely interesting Frida Kahlo is fascinating, powerful and charming at the same time. I do not know exactly how true to life the plot of this movie is but I enjoyed it a great deal and felt very inspired afterwards.

 

Seeing as I still have a colossal list of movies that I still need to watch, I really hope I will come across more gems like these ones. Watching a new movie and falling in love with it is one of my favorite experiences in life and I am very curious to see what this year in film is going to bring!

X
Valentine

Leave a Reply

