My favorite movie

Hi! I figured I would start things off with a post about my all-time favorite movie, Jurassic Park!

jurassic park

Director: Steven Spielberg
Lead actors: Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum, Richard Attenborough
Score: John Williams

I first saw the movie when I was about eleven years old. I had always been obsessed with dinosaurs and as a kid they were all I could talk about. However, my mother did not approve of me watching the movie because she thought it would give me nightmares. In the end she was right, but man, were they worth it.

As soon as the movie starts, the ominous music and the scenery give me goose bumps. The way you only catch glimpses of the velociraptor rather than showing her off in all her glory prematurely is so good! Then the story starts to unfold and even though you already know what is coming, the build-up to protagonist Alan Grant seeing that first brachiosaurus still leaves me breathless. As soon as the main characters enter the park things start to get really interesting, and even though I know which characters survive and which do not, I am still on the edge of my seat all the way through the movie every single time.

I think that the main reason why I love this film so much is the use of animatronics to portray some of the dinosaurs. A lot of people who I have watched the movie with find them quite fake-looking and prefer the CGI-created dinosaurs, but I beg to differ. I just love how the animatronics make for very realistic interaction with the actors. I remember watching the making-of and one of the actors said that they were genuinely afraid of them because if the person controlling them made even the slightest mistake they could get crushed. So the fear they portray is a lot more genuine than you would think, which is why I prefer the ‘robot dinos’.

Another thing that I found to be very interesting when watching the making-of was how they made the sounds of the dinosaurs. The screeches of the velociraptors, for example, are a combination of dolphin, walrus, goose, tortoise and human sounds.

My favorite scene by far has got to be the one where, on the tour through the park, the main characters stumble upon a sick triceratops and you get to see them interact with her. I may be a bit too emotional when watching movies, but that part still brings tears to my eyes whenever I see it. I’m still incredibly jealous of the actors for having been able to do that. Fake or not, that must have been epic!

I still get overwhelmed with so much emotion and excitement every single time I watch it, which probably has  a lot to do with the stunning, stunning score. John Williams is, in my humble opinion, one of the very best composers – I mean, who doesn’t love him! – and this particular work of his is my favorite. I want the main theme to be played at my funeral!

The sequels are up there as well as some of my favorite movies, but the first one will always have a special place in my heart.

Thank you so much for reading my sappy little post and be sure to leave a comment telling me what your favorite movie is!

X
Valentine

Leave a Reply

